Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Do I need a VAT number to invoice EU clients from the UK?
Thread poster: Diana Edmond
Diana Edmond
Diana Edmond
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:02
Member (2008)
Italian to Romanian
+ ...
Jun 29, 2013

Hi all!

I'm fairly new to the UK and am trying to work out how to get around the whole VAT invoicing problem with EU clients (mainly in Italy in my case).

I've read all the threads on here already, but I would love to:
1. Confirm that I definitely do NOT need to register for VAT here in order to sell my services to EU customers (my income will definitely be below the threshold).
2. Convince the clients that I do not need to be registered, and help them circu
... See more
Hi all!

I'm fairly new to the UK and am trying to work out how to get around the whole VAT invoicing problem with EU clients (mainly in Italy in my case).

I've read all the threads on here already, but I would love to:
1. Confirm that I definitely do NOT need to register for VAT here in order to sell my services to EU customers (my income will definitely be below the threshold).
2. Convince the clients that I do not need to be registered, and help them circumnavigate any reverse charge VAT problem at their end.

The problem with No. 2 is, there appears to be nowhere on the HMRC site that states this explicitly with reference to supplying services to a VAT-registered business in another member state. Other than providing a link (from the EU site) to a list of the different VAT thresholds in each member state, what else can I send the clients to make this clear? Does anyone have any useful links up their sleeve?

(PS: My first application for a NI number has just been turned down, and without being able to invoice non-UK clients from here and that money being paid into my UK bank account, I will struggle to convince the UK authorities that I am trading here.)