Xia29
Xia29  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 04:09
English to French
+ ...
Apr 13, 2008

Hello there,

I am quite new to CAT tools and I was wondering if anyone has any tips on how to build a termbase.

I am especially interested in ways that existing glossaries and databases can be imported. So far I have found a few glossaries in the .xls format, but that's about it.

Any other tips in building a good termbase efficiently and quickly are also welcome!

Thank you!

Xia

Viktoria Gimbe
Viktoria Gimbe  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 22:09
English to French
+ ...
Please, take a look at this recent thread Apr 13, 2008

Among other things, there is a link to a very useful website to help you get going with termbases in this recent thread: http://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/102073-new_to_trados_:_question_about_termbases-832568.html#832568

All the best!

Xia29
Xia29  Identity Verified
Switzerland
English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you, but what is your experience building a termbase? Apr 13, 2008

Thank Viktoria for your comment. I had already checked that thread, and the tutorial on that website is quite helpful.

However what I'm really interested in is your experience and advice on how to build a termbase most efficiently. Do you add terms as you translate? Did you align previous translations and use a term extractor? Did you import existing glossaries? Did you enter new terms one by one? Or do you only use a termbase when it is provided by a client?

I am jus
... See more
Thank Viktoria for your comment. I had already checked that thread, and the tutorial on that website is quite helpful.

However what I'm really interested in is your experience and advice on how to build a termbase most efficiently. Do you add terms as you translate? Did you align previous translations and use a term extractor? Did you import existing glossaries? Did you enter new terms one by one? Or do you only use a termbase when it is provided by a client?