HTML tags - what is the best work process for Trados 17 to capture them in the target text?
Thread poster: Martin Shaw
Martin Shaw
Martin Shaw
Germany
Local time: 06:35
Member (2017)
German to English
Aug 28, 2017

e.g. do I copy source to target and insert the translation between the tags?

(Sorry, I'm a complete novice!)

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Martin Aug 29, 2017

Martin Shaw wrote:
What is the best work process for Trados 2017 to capture HTML tags in the target text? Do I copy source to target and insert the translation between the tags?

You could do that, but eventually you'll have to learn how to delete incorrect tags and how to insert correct tags manually. There are some keyboard shortcuts for that, and it take a bit of practice, because Trados' way of dealing with tags isn't straight-forward (I myself haven't been able to figure it out, for example, but I'm also a novice when it comes to Trados). Also note that AFAIK you can't place individual paired tags -- instead, you have place both tags of a pair simultaneously (which can be a frustrating experience in complex segments).

As soon as you start getting fuzzy matches, you'll have to be able to tell how to move tags around, delete tags, and insert tags.

This video is good to watch:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Y5WzzSZ4ss

RWS Community
RWS Community
United Kingdom
English
handling tags Aug 29, 2017

Martin Shaw wrote:

(Sorry, I'm a complete novice!)

Not too hard... this is old now but still relevant:

https://multifarious.filkin.com/2012/09/10/working_with_tags/

Regards

Paul
Why not try the new SDL Community

Glyn Lloyd-Jones
Glyn Lloyd-Jones  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:35
Member (2015)
Italian to English
There's a useful app Aug 29, 2017

Martin Shaw wrote: