I am planning to acquire a translation accreditation. NAATI, ATA or IoL?
Thread poster: feller (X)
feller (X)
feller (X)

Local time: 00:28
English to Chinese
Mar 6, 2007

Dear All,

I am planning to acquire a translation accreditation, in purpose of building new connections with international clients or agencies. NAATI, ATA, IoL or the others, I am wondering which would better serve my goal.

I have been an English-Chinese translator for 2 years, in Taiwan. Though I am currently an in-house translator in an art museum, I have translated many business documents. (I have a BA in business management and a minor in English. My native language
... See more
Dear All,

I am planning to acquire a translation accreditation, in purpose of building new connections with international clients or agencies. NAATI, ATA, IoL or the others, I am wondering which would better serve my goal.

I have been an English-Chinese translator for 2 years, in Taiwan. Though I am currently an in-house translator in an art museum, I have translated many business documents. (I have a BA in business management and a minor in English. My native language in Chinese, Taiwan Style.)

Thank you for your advice!

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2007-03-06 10:27]
Collapse

Birgit Richter
Birgit Richter  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 18:28
English to German
+ ...
T/I qualification Mar 6, 2007

It depends which clients you wish to target. I don't know about NAATI, but the ATA-accreditation is linked to ATA-membership, i.e. it ceases upon termination of membership, while the IoL qualification (Dip Trans) does not require membership of the IoL (though passing the exam might entitle you to membership).

Julian Wood
Julian Wood  Identity Verified
Local time: 17:28
Czech to English
+ ...
Don't worry too much Mar 9, 2007

Hi
I read your post with interest, as I'm also at the stage of deciding on some accreditation