Is this the state of the translation industry today?
Thread poster: George Trail
George Trail
George Trail  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:48
Member (2009)
French to English
+ ...
Mar 14

https://www.translationdirectory.com/job_00071320.php#google_vignette

I've been a professional translator for 15 years. And I ask: what kind of person offers an opportunity of interpretation work for only 10 Euros an hour?

Is this the state of the translation industry today? I don't know about you but I don't know how much longer I can cling
... See more

I've been a professional translator for 15 years. And I ask: what kind of person offers an opportunity of interpretation work for only 10 Euros an hour?

Is this the state of the translation industry today? I don't know about you but I don't know how much longer I can cling on. I'm talking about CAT tools - but aren't there still plenty of people out there who will send translators they are interested in hiring scans of what they want translated as opposed to digitised files (Word, Excel, whatever)?
Collapse

Natasha Cloutier
Dalia Nour

Baran Keki
Baran Keki  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 19:48
English to Turkish
It's real Mar 14

George Trail wrote:

Apparently it's the going rate in India. Not bad that though, you can pay for the monthly subscription fee in just an hour!

Robert Rietvelt
Dalia Nour
Yasutomo Kanazawa

Christopher Schröder
Christopher Schröder
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
Swedish to English
+ ...
Eh? Mar 14

George Trail wrote:
Is this the state of the translation industry today? I don't know about you but I don't know how much longer I can cling on. I'm talking about CAT tools - but aren't there still plenty of people out there who will send translators they are interested in hiring scans of what they want translated as opposed to digitised files (Word, Excel, whatever)?

Not sure what are you saying here? You want customers to go back to sending faxes?

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida