Is there an organization for this specialty?
Téma indítója: Sara Senft
Sara Senft
Sara Senft  Identity Verified
Egyesült Államok
Local time: 02:37
spanyol - angol
+ ...
Jan 28, 2009

I am a Spanish/English translator who specializes in the field of Education. In fact, my background is in teaching and I tutor on the side. (Many of my students primarily speak Spanish.)

I recently joined a professional organization and I am considering joining another. I know that there are translator organizations for certain specialties. Is there such an organization for translators with my specialty?

Astrid Elke Witte
Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Németország
Local time: 08:37
Tag (2002 óta)
német - angol
+ ...
Yes, there is Jan 28, 2009

There is the Chartered Institute of Linguists Education Division:

http://www.iol.org.uk/membership/div_education.asp

Is this what you are looking for?

Sara Senft
Egyesült Államok
spanyol - angol
+ ...
TÉMAINDÍTÓ
Something like that Jan 28, 2009

Astrid;

I am looking for something along those lines. Ideally, I am looking for an organization that is specifically for translators who specialize in translating materials for the field of Education. If no such organization exists, I would consider joining a group for language educators.

Would the organization you mentioned accept members from outside the UK?

Astrid Elke Johnson wrote:

There is the Chartered Institute of Linguists Education Division:

http://www.iol.org.uk/membership/div_education.asp

Is this what you are looking for?

Astrid Elke Witte
Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Németország
Local time: 08:37
Tag (2002 óta)
német - angol
+ ...
They have members in lots of countries Jan 28, 2009

Dear Sara,

As far as I know, they have members in countries all over the world. The best thing to do would be to study their website.

Best regards,

Astrid

Jill Ananyi
Jill Ananyi  Identity Verified
Egyesült Államok
spanyol - angol
+ ...
Not that I know of Jan 29, 2009

Hi Sara,