Silvia Markovič
Slovakia
Local time: 16:29
Member (2020)
English to Slovak
+ ...
Aug 12, 2022

Hello everyone,

I'm a translator for over 10 years and I'd like to broaden my knowledge in the subtitle area. Is there any software you use and have a good experience with which is able to extract the subtitles from the video voice? I mean, a client sends you a video without any written script and you have to do the time codes and write down what is said in the video. Is there any software which can do that and you just have to adjust the time codes and correct the subs?

... See more
Hello everyone,

I'm a translator for over 10 years and I'd like to broaden my knowledge in the subtitle area. Is there any software you use and have a good experience with which is able to extract the subtitles from the video voice? I mean, a client sends you a video without any written script and you have to do the time codes and write down what is said in the video. Is there any software which can do that and you just have to adjust the time codes and correct the subs?

I have no experience in this so I hope you'll be able to understand what I mean.

Thanks in advance.
Collapse

Mr. Satan (X)
Mr. Satan (X)
English to Indonesian
ASR Aug 13, 2022

Any subtitling software with automatic speech recognition can do that. For offline tools, there are SubtitleNEXT and Subtitle Composer. If you (or your clients, rather) don’t mind working in the cloud, you can use Matesub.

However, please keep in mind that, depending on several factors, it can potentially make your job harder than actually being helpful. Poor audio quality, badly scripted video, the ASR not being optimized for your TL, etc. can negatively affect the performance of
... See more
Any subtitling software with automatic speech recognition can do that. For offline tools, there are SubtitleNEXT and Subtitle Composer. If you (or your clients, rather) don’t mind working in the cloud, you can use Matesub.